Placeholder Picture
HomeAbout  the AuthorBook ClubsNovel ExtrasContact
Placeholder Picture

Bonds of Betrayal

Copper Creek Tales - Book 2 : A Copper Creek Series Prequel

ISBN: 9781691056446/ 9781370650132/ ASIN: B07XWSFY1L
Published: 2019 Innovative Writing Works
Category: Fiction/Romance/Western/Family Life / Pages: 277
Ebook Price: $2.99 / Paperback Price: $10.95

Buy Now in Ebook or Paperback Formats at: amazonSmashwords


In a town where “no one and nothing is what it seems”, harsh realities ensnare Amy Kent in secret intrigue...

It was a warm, summer night in 1873 and Amy Kent was eagerly anticipating her reunion with Doctor Luke Owens. It had been two months since they'd parted and just as long since she first suspected he loved her.

When she'd returned to Copper Creek that spring, Amy had been seeking revenge, not romance, for the cruel deception George Mason had perpetrated on her and her father twenty years earlier. Though Mason failed to succeed in his treachery, Amy always dreamed of the day she’d make Mason pay. Then she met Luke.

A gentle, country doctor, Luke healed the bitterness of Amy's heart and made her see Mason wasn't worth hating any more. Or so she thought, until a Deputy Marshal from Sulfur Springs arrived at her door with an urgent summons for Luke from his estranged brother, Mark.
Arrested for murder, Mark was in desperate need of help to fight the unjust sentence of death hanging over his head. So, duty-bound, but blind to the dangers awaiting him in Sulfur Springs, Luke agreed to go to his brother's side. But when he arrives, he discovers the seemingly ordinary community rife with corruption due to the ambitions of a familiar foe, George Mason.

Power-hungry and determined to inflate his fortunes by any means, Luke quickly learns Mason has Sulfur Springs in a strangle hold. Only now, he wants to use his power to crush Luke and Amy as well.

Intending to use Luke and his brother to avenge the bitter feud between himself and Amy, Mason begins manipulating townsfolk and strangers alike to bring about his greedy aims. Unless Amy can find a way to stop his insidious plot for revenge, all her hopes for the future could be dashed by the bitter bonds of betrayal.

Explore the Rest of the Copper Creek Series...

Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture
Placeholder Picture

The Mysterious Miner's Legacy - Copper Creek Tales - Book 1

A Tragedy From the Past Threatened Her Hope for The Future...
A prequel to the Copper Creek Series, this novel goes back to the town’s earliest beginnings to tell a tale of struggle and redemption about the “mysterious miner” whose hidden bonanza gave Copper Creek its name, but left his daughter with a heavy burden. As Amy Kent struggles to reclaim what was taken from her, she comes to realize a legacy far more precious than a lost copper mine can be hers for the asking, if she will only dare to love again.

>> Read More Secrets of the Stream - Copper Creek Series - Book 1

The Burden of Secrets Could Cost Her More Than Her Heart...
Jane Randolph’s residence in Copper Creek had not been long enough to know how many secrets were concealed behind its friendly doors or beneath its shimmering namesake. But during the summer of 1880, the arrival of two strangers begins to unravel the mystery of a hidden copper mine that had shrouded the town in legend for decades. Eager to dismiss the news as gossip, Jane’s encounters with the dashing architect, Thomas Mason and the town’s inscrutable new minister, Henry Kohl, begin to make her suspect there may be substance to the rumors. 

>> Read More Ripples in the Stream - Copper Creek Series - Book 2

Could a Twist of Fate Heal a Broken Heart?
Ben Kohl rode into Copper Creek amid the aftermath of scandal and disillusionment in the fall of 1880. Michael Randolph’s passing that summer had sparked an epidemic of doubt in Copper Creek that perhaps all was not as wholesome or honest as it seemed. But remedying this perception was not Ben Kohls’s aim. Rather, he intended to seek out the keeper of Michael Randolph’s darkest secret to release an even more shocking truth on the unsuspecting populace.

>> Read More
Memories by the Stream - Copper Creek Series - Book 3

One Memory That Couldn't Be Forgotten or Forgiven...
The winter of 1880 had closed in on the town of Copper Creek, blanketing the Missouri countryside in a sparkling expanse of white. The stillness of the season afforded Ruth Randolph the opportunity to reflect on the drastic upheaval in her life since her husband's death that summer. Infidelity, intrigue, deception and mistaken identity had all been revealed in the light of truth. Yet, Ruth couldn't have been happier. After a long period of grief, she had finally made peace with the past. But when a letter arrives from her estranged father, Caleb Vance, a grudge left unresolved for more than twenty years forces Ruth to relive the darkest hour of her youth.

>> Read More
Crossroads at the Stream - Copper Creek Series - Book 4

Caught At a Crossroads Between Truth and Lies...
The promise of new life had taken on special significance with spring's arrival in 1881. After a hectic year full of upheaval, changes abounded in every corner of the small Missouri town of Copper Creek. New buildings, new faces and new romances were transforming the rural community plagued by scandal since rumors of a hidden copper mine became deadly last July. But all that trouble was behind them now. Or so the people of Copper Creek thought, until one balmy morning in March, the stage arrived carrying a passenger with a decidedly disturbing mission.

>> Read More

©2020 Innovative Writing Works
HomeBack to TopSite Map